School Curricula Guides

Highers & Advanced Highers

In the senior phase curriculum, from S4 to S6 (ages 15 to 18), students begin to sit Scottish national qualifications awarded by the Scottish Qualification Authority (SQA) – National 4-5, Highers and Advanced Highers.
Highers & Advanced Highers
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
Do your children attend a UK school? Take our survey and help other parents.
WhichSchoolAdvisor's annual school survey.

Highers and Advanced Highers are the Scottish equivalents of A Levels and both are recognised by universities worldwide; while Highers are considered the same as AS levels, Advanced Highers are considered slightly harder than A Levels.

The most able candidates in S5 typically take five Higher subjects; in general, students need to get around four Highers by the end of S5 or the end of S6 to be accepted into university.

Advanced Higher courses are the highest certificate offered by the SQA. Some UK universities require students to study to Advanced Higher level as part of their entry requirements, and it’s essential for courses such as medicine and veterinary medicine. Students with specific Advanced Highers may be able to enter some degrees in the second year of university.

4 UK Schools offering Highers & Advanced Highers

School name Community Region
Dollar Academy Clackmanshire Scotland
Lathallan School Angus Scotland
Stewart's Melville College Edinburgh Scotland
The Mary Erskine School Edinburgh Scotland

0 Schools Selected
keyboard_arrow_down keyboard_arrow_up
Your selection Clear All