United Arab Emirates / Abu Dhabi / Baniyas East / Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi

Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi Review

Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi, a K-12 school when fully operational, is part of the Global Indian International School (GIIS) group of schools. In the latest ADEC report, the school overall was found to be Acceptable.
Parents' Rating
help
4.2 out of 5 based on 5 reviews
At a glance
School phase
All through
Inspection rating
Good
Curricula taught
Availability 2019/20
radio_button_unchecked No data
Availability 2020/21
radio_button_unchecked No data
Annual fee average
AED 11,000
Annual fees
AED 10,000 - 12,000
Price band help
Value
Status
Open
Opening year
2015
School year
Apr to Mar
Principal
Dr Heena Rachh
Owner
Global Schools Foundation
Community
Main teacher nationality
Indian
Main student nationality
Indian

Nearby nurseries

2.2km • Montessori curriculum
Does your child attend this school? Take our survey and help other parents.
WhichSchoolAdvisor's annual school survey.
LET'S GO
favorite favorite_border Save
Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi
School phase
All through
Inspection rating
Good
Curricula taught
Availability 2019/20
radio_button_unchecked No data
Availability 2020/21
radio_button_unchecked No data
Annual fee average
AED 11,000
Annual fees
AED 10,000 - 12,000
Price band help
Value
Status
Open
Opening year
2015
School year
Apr to Mar
Principal
Dr Heena Rachh
Owner
Global Schools Foundation
Community
Main teacher nationality
Indian
Main student nationality
Indian
MORE arrow_drop_down
First Published:
Saturday 28 July, 2012

Updated:
Wednesday 24 July, 2019

Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi, a K-12 school when fully operational, is part of the Global Indian International School (GIIS) group of schools. In the latest ADEC report, the school overall was found to be Acceptable.

Latest news: 2018-19 ADEK inspection rating - Good.  The full report has not yet been added to the ADEK website; an update based on this will be published once the full report is available.

The Story so Far

Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi follows a Montessori Plus curriculum at KG, and then the most widespread Indian curriculum in the UAE, the CBSE. Both of these sit within the school group's own education methodology, something it calls "9  Gems" - a learning program that "meets the changing needs of a growing child and his/her evolving personality".

Specifically these nine "gems" are:  Academic Excellence, Collaborative & Project-Based Learning; Sports, Health & Fitness Excellence; Digital and Visual Arts; Personality Development, Speech & Drama; Creativity, Innovation and Problem solving; Entrepreneurship & Leadership Development; Universal Values, Ethics & Discipline; Community Connection, Care and Conserve and Life Skills, Career and Vocational Competencies.

In the initial years of growth, the focus is on developing universal values, ethics, discipline, creativity and personality development. During secondary and high school years, the focus shifts to academic achievement, leadership & entrepreneurial skills and key competencies for vocational and career advancement.



Originally meant to open in April 2015 for KG to Grade 8, permission by ADEC took until September of the same year to be given. At that point the school opened for KG1 and KG2, with Grades 1 to 8 not coming on board until April 2016.

What do the Inspectors Say? 

As the report notes, "The overall quality of students’ achievement is acceptable. Most children in KG and students in primary and middle attain in line with appropriate curriculum levels." There are areas that are Weak, specifically Primary students' progress in Science and Maths. 

Students' personal development has been rated as Good throughout the school. As the report notes, "Most students have positive attitudes and their behaviour is good. Students have respectful relations with staff and, for the most part, show diligence and commitment in their work. Students’ personal confidence and sense of self-worth is enhanced because of the positive way teachers nurture them and provide effective opportunities to use their talents and
develop leadership skills." 

What about Fees? 

Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi has a capacity for 1,700 students once fully open (from KG to Grade 12) and given the tuition fees is likely to hit that number fairly quickly. These currently range from 10,000 AED at KG, and will hit 11,800 AED at Grade 12. This makes it the most affordable new school to have opened in the UAE in recent years.

In spite these value fees the school seems to have good facilities for its students.



What about the Facilities? 

The campus, spread over 19,000 square meters, includes a synthetic track for athletics, table tennis, a tennis court, a soccer ground, a badminton court, a cricket ground, swimming pool, yoga centre, Wi-Fi enabled classrooms, e-learning technology through video-conferencing, LCD video projection in all classrooms, an audio-video presentation room, a multi-purpose auditorium with a capacity of 600 seats, an exclusive play area for Kindergarten with age-appropriate equipment, a Digital Library, Music studio, Drama theatre, an Art Studio for visual and digital arts a Dance studio and a Cafeteria for students.

Student Life? 

According to the school's web site it provides a wide range of extra curricular activities, "which are imparted through professional instructors". The school also offers "co-curricular" activities allow students to "pursue diverse interests and develop their innate and latent talents through host of fine and performing arts. Qualified instructors and artists impart a wide range of CCAs."

No specific clubs are mentioned however.

Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi says it uses field trips to help students "improve on their organisational ability, observation, learn to be independent, interaction skills with peers and seniors, and imbibe invaluable insights into life around them."

It has also set up four houses - Chrysanthemum, Hibiscus, Orchid, and Sunflower - among which all students are distributed.

"The houses develop a sense of responsibility and a spirit of healthy competition. The school organises various inter-house competitions, which are held for junior and senior students. Children are encouraged to exhibit their talent in music, dance, cultural activities, and sports."

Overall there is no doubt Global Indian International School Abu Dhabi talks a very good game, however the proof is in the pudding, and it will be interesting to see how well the school is able to deliver on its aims while maintaining fees at this level.

Should it be successful however this will be a benchmark school - very much a gem - in the emirates, where a large segment of the population is currently under served when it comes to schools. We watch with considerable interest. We doubt we are alone in doing so.

 

If you are the owner or the principal of the school and note any inaccuracies, or would like to update data, you can now open an account with us. You will also be able to add admissions availability per year group, and advertise current job vacancies. This is a free service. Please help us keep prospective parents up to date with your latest information.

Are you looking for a place for your child, and want help from our school consultants? If so, click on the link below, and we will forward your request for information to the school or schools of the same type that we are confident have availability. This is a free service for our readers. Request Information

Comments
12 Archived Comments
Kompare Allwayz
Archived 6th Sep 2016, 09:43

Please publish the ADEC result when you get it. It will help.

The school seems a new startup for M.E and lacking independent reviews. (If you discount a Dubai school, again a start up together with Ambassador group, now operating as Ambassador school :
http://whichschooladvisor.com/review_article/global-indian-international-school-dubai/ Dubai school is KHDA "Acceptable" but also had branding dispute with Ambassador group which co-started the school.

If you Google for Global Indian school review Abu Dhabi the first hit is the companys own web site, no independent reviews and your page is at number two but there is very little information otherwise.

Havaq
Archived 13th Apr 2016, 20:05

GIIS Abu Dhabi did not open in 2015 because of ADEC not giving permission, this is according to Sheela Menon, Principal of GIIS. Details we published in Gulf News http://gulfnews.com/xpress/news/delay-in-school-opening-puts-students-in-a-fix-1.1540324

WhichSchoolAdvisor.com
Archived 14th Apr 2016, 11:17

Thanks Havaq - the school finally opened in September 2015 - good news for the parents who had been waiting...

GIIS
Archived 25th Jan 2015, 17:04

Dear All,

Please note that the GLOBAL INDIAN INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL, ABU DHABI, will commence operation from April, 2015, following CBSE Curriculum. Admission enquiries can be done for grades KG - I to Grade VIII at www.giisabudhabi.org.
You can also contact school office at 052-2181585 / 055-5286909.
Thank you
GIIS Abu Dhabi

Lyn Soppelsa
Archived 24th Jan 2015, 16:04

It seems that currently the only way to reach the school is via their Facebook page where you can leave a message and the school will contact you. https://www.facebook.com/giis.abudhabi.

Their website - http://www.giisabudhabi.org/ - also contains a link for Admissions. Unfortunately, the rest of the site is not yet live, but we are trying to reach the school and will update you as we are able to do so.

nazzar ahmed
Archived 22nd Jan 2015, 20:43

Dear Madam/Sir.
Just want to know Fees structure.
Thanks.

puttenveetilsuresh
Archived 14th Jan 2015, 09:54

Dear Sir/Madam,

Just want to know when the registration start & where your school will be started and how can we get admission as I am looking for my son KG1 & 7th Std admission. please inform me whether school starts from April or Sep and the fees structure? Thanks
Abraham

Ahamathullah
Archived 4th Jan 2015, 13:59

Good Day, I would like to know when the school is going to be open? When will the admissions process start for grade-3?

Pankaj
Archived 6th Sep 2016, 09:50

Hi i would like to know about admission for my daughter. K1.
if it is possible or not in 2017.

Alka baldua
Archived 30th Nov 2014, 18:52

Dear sir, I would like to know when the school is going to be open? When will the admissions process start for grade-2 and grade 5?

Muhammad Aamir Siddiqi
Archived 22nd Nov 2014, 20:53

I would like to know when admission in abu dhabi will start in your school , i am seeking admission in KG 2 & Grade 2.

Abraham
Archived 26th Mar 2014, 14:31

Dear Sir/Madam,

Just want to know when & where your school will be started and how can we get admission as I am looking for my son KG1 admission. please inform me whether school starts from April or Sep? Thanks
Abraham

0 Schools Selected
keyboard_arrow_down keyboard_arrow_up
Your selection Clear All