United Arab Emirates / Abu Dhabi / Khalifa City A / GEMS American Academy

GEMS American Academy Fees & Availability

GEMS American Academy Abu Dhabi is a highly rated (Very Good) US/IB curriculum school located on the outskirts of the city near the airport catering to 2,000 students from a wide range of nationalities.
Parents' Rating
help
3.8 out of 5 based on 25 reviews
At a glance
School phase
All through
Curricula taught
Availability 2019/20
radio_button_unchecked Limited
Availability 2020/21
not_interested No
Annual fee average
AED 70,500
Annual fees
AED 52,870 - 73,670
Price band help
Premium
Status
Open
Opening year
2007
School year
Sep to Jun
Principal
Dr. Kathryn Miner
Owner
GEMS Education
Main teacher nationality
US Citizen
Main student nationality
Emirati
Does your child attend this school? Take our survey and help other parents.
WhichSchoolAdvisor's annual school survey.
LET'S GO

Kindly find the current fees and availability for GEMS American Academy.

Fee History

Annual fees

Grade Int'l / UK 2019/20 2020/21
KG 1 / FS2 AED 52,870 Unspecified
KG 2 / Year 1 AED 52,870 Unspecified
Grade 1 / Year 2 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 2 / Year 3 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 3 / Year 4 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 4 / Year 5 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 5 / Year 6 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 6 / Year 7 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 7 / Year 8 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 8 / Year 9 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 9 / Year 10 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 10 / Year 11 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 11 / Year 12 AED 73,670 Unspecified
Grade 12 / Year 13 AED 73,670 Unspecified

Availability

The admissions information on this page is provided by the school itself and will be correct at the time of publication. We do not allow data to remain on the site for more than four weeks to ensure the information that you find here is recent.

Note: The default state for any school is that there is no availability. This status will be reflected on the site until a school lets us know spaces have opened up for a specific year group for a specific academic year.

Availability last updated Nov 21, 2019

Grade Int'l / UK 2019/20 2020/21
KG 1 / FS2 checkYes closeNone
KG 2 / Year 1 checkYes closeNone
Grade 1 / Year 2 checkYes closeNone
Grade 2 / Year 3 checkYes closeNone
Grade 3 / Year 4 checkYes closeNone
Grade 4 / Year 5 alarmWaiting List closeNone
Grade 5 / Year 6 checkYes closeNone
Grade 6 / Year 7 alarmWaiting List closeNone
Grade 7 / Year 8 checkYes closeNone
Grade 8 / Year 9 checkYes closeNone
Grade 9 / Year 10 checkYes closeNone
Grade 10 / Year 11 checkYes closeNone
Grade 11 / Year 12 checkYes closeNone
Grade 12 / Year 13 checkYes closeNone

If you are the owner or the principal of the school and note any inaccuracies, or would like to update data, you can now open an account with us. You will also be able to add admissions availability per year group, and advertise current job vacancies. This is a free service. Please help us keep prospective parents up to date with your latest information.

Are you looking for a place for your child, and want help from our school consultants? If so, click on the link below, and we will forward your request for information to the school or schools of the same type that we are confident have availability. This is a free service for our readers. Request Information

Comments
11 Archived Comments
Ahmed
Archived 10th Mar 2015, 10:56

This school dropped from A2 to B5 in 1 year...I think that says it all, no?

Frank
Archived 19th Mar 2015, 12:32

For me, the issue isn't that the school's ranking has dropped, but rather, how much it dropped. We see every year, schools will up or down a ranking slot. But to drop 3 spaces in one year? That shows there was a miscalculation by the administration of the school (and possibly by GEMS as well).

I do hope they get it together; the UAE needs more good schools that don't just offer a US curriculum, but also are more orientated towards a Western culture socially (not just Western academics). This way, parents wanting to put their kids in an American school have more options.

Professor
Archived 10th Mar 2015, 11:18

It says the school has grown, and there is a significant number of new staff members. GEMs will no doubt resolve the issues, but there is always a period of normalisation after such growth.

Ahmed
Archived 10th Mar 2015, 15:38

I don't know, to me it says the school seems to be run more like a corporation than a school. Good management can and should have factored in how such rapid expansion should affect the students (and if not, that SHOULD be their first priority).

I'm not saying this is a bad school. I do hear wonderful things about the faculty and facilities. And I understand that the demand for schools is increasing, and some schools are expanding to meet the demand. I am just saying, the school (and GEMS in general) should maybe realize "slow and steady wins the race", even if it is a cliche.

Professor
Archived 10th Mar 2015, 16:27

Personally I would agree with that Ahmed.

Marjie
Archived 11th Aug 2014, 16:33

I have four children at GEMS AA. We are pleased with the education they received last year as well as the rigor! Yes, we will miss the staff and administrators that we respected (danx2). However, as an international educator, I know that teachers fulfill contracts and need to decide for their families the next best move. We are encouraged by meeting the new administrators and look forward to another academic year at GEMS AA....

Phil
Archived 10th Nov 2013, 20:26

I have had my children at GAA for three years, and have observed the quality decrease each year. This year, my son in middle school has had his schedule changed at least five times, has had teachers that barely speak English, and has had teachers send home requests for students to bring supplies from home. My child's teacher in the elementary school reports that she is lacking essential materials for her class. The root problem at GEMS is that the corporation controls the local budget, and has not allocated sufficient funds for materials and qualified teachers.

Sarah
Archived 1st Dec 2014, 10:33

My opinion: Move your kids to ACS-AD. It is a much better school.

Mimi
Archived 11th Nov 2013, 22:06

So why don't you move your kids? Why jeopardize your children's quality of education? Why nothing has been done till tody?

Phil
Archived 29th Jun 2013, 13:32

GEMS is only concerned with image. Necessary services are subcontracted. GEMS profits from these services, but takes no responsibility for the poor service provided by these monopolies (uniforms, school lunches, after school activities). The community is good in spite of the corporation, not because of it. Don't be fooled by the beautiful building. We have loved the teachers but the good ones leave as quickly as possible. The poor quality, expensive, restrictive uniforms, change every year. Despite charging the highest tuition of any school in the area you will be continually asked for money for field trips, fundraisers for the class activities etc. High achieving children are asked to complete meaningless busy work so that they don't get too far ahead of their peers.

Mimi
Archived 18th Sep 2013, 10:20

"High achieving children are asked to complete meaningless busy work so that they don’t get too far ahead of their peers."

What do you mean?

I came to know there are different levels in many of the subjects!

Why do good faculty leave Gems?

0 Schools Selected
keyboard_arrow_down keyboard_arrow_up
Your selection Clear All