Login | Register
 
Email Twitter Facebook YouTube Google+ 2013 Survey
WSA Good School
User Rating:
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Academic Performance
Quality of Teaching
Sports Provision
Student Guidance and Support
Languages Offered
Islamic Education
Arabic Language Provision
An Holistic Curriculum
Extra Curricular Activities
Learning Differences Support
Rating: 3.1/5 (24 votes cast)

DPS Sharjah, Delhi Private School Sharjah

DPS Sharjah, or more officially Delhi Private School, Sharjah is regarded as one of the best Indian curriculum schools in the UAE, and is a branch of one of the best Indian schools in India itself – Delhi Public School, New Delhi.

The Sharjah school is older than its Dubai counterpart (consistently ranked ‘Good’ by the KHDA), and was established in 2000. According to parents and students who attend the Sharjah school, it comes closer to achieving the successes of its parent school in India.

The school’s Web site is largely out of date, and does not publish information on exam successes, so in terms of pure academic performance this is hard to gauge or benchmark. WSA was able to find some information on its examination results from newspaper sources however.

In 2014, DPS Sharjah recorded a 100 percent pass rate for its Grade 12, with all 284 students who sat the CBSE examinations successful (Source: Emirates Today). This, however, is not uncommon in the CBSE exams. In 2012, DPS Sharjah also achieved “100 per cent results” for Grade 10, with 23 per cent students acquiring a CGPA of 10 with a grading of A1 in all the subjects. 85 per cent students registered a CGPA of 8 and above, while all 338 students who took the CBSE examinations passed with a 1st Division. (Source Gulf News). In 2011, 269 students appeared for the exam. Forty-seven students secured a CGPA of 10. 129 students secured a CGPA of above 9.  The 17.5 percent of students securing a CGPA of 10 compared to 2 per cent of students in 2010. (Source KT).

Results like these have given DPS Sharjah a strong reputation among its particular market – parents seeking a high quality Indian based curriculum school for their children.

Aside academic performance, Delhi Private School Sharjah also seems very keen on sports, with a particular strength in cricket.

Rather like the New Delhi school, many Indian parents actively target DPS Sharjah. As a result admission is not axiomatic. The school is selective, and an entrance examination is required. Registration costs a non-refundable 250 AED.

Tuition fees for the school range from 8,220 AED per year for KG 1 up to 11,530 AED for Grade 12. That excludes bus fees, kit fees and CLP fees. More details here.

 

Location

 

 

If you are the principal or the owner of the school and note any factual inaccuracies in this review, kindly contact us at editor@whichschooladvisor.com.

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
How informative did you find this article?
Rating: 3.6/5 (22 votes cast)
DPS Sharjah, Delhi Private School Sharjah, 3.1 out of 5 based on 24 ratings
Update on July 29, 2014 | Reviewed by David on July 7, 2012

5 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Nessa vas says
    November 15, 2014, 6:04 pm

    Hi my child is 3.8 yrs old .. Planning to put her to school the coming year 2015 April. I live in Sharjah so planning to admit her in the best school in Sharjah..best in education n extra curricular activities.
    I read ur review abt DPS!
    Also wanted to know about Indian International school and Bilva school ( the new school in Al nahda)

    Thank you

    Reply
  2. avi says
    December 9, 2013, 1:36 pm

    Hi every one,,thank you for frank and free review as given above.I would like to know if any one can give any feed back of GEMS Modern Academy,Dubai.If possible to compare between GEMS Modern and DPS Sharjha which one should we choose for our son.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous says
    September 26, 2013, 9:10 am

    My daughter had been studying in DPS Sharjah for several years. She is a very bright student, but whatever academic achievement she has got is with the help of parental guidance.

    The teaching is hopeless. The good results of the school are because of the efforts of tuition teachers, students and parents.

    A big show off is given on the ‘Scholar badge days’ and ‘open house days’ and parents feel their kids are in a good place. However, this is the only school where the Principal’s office is closed to visitors and parents.

    Every prefect, every all rounder and every member of the school teams, for any event in sports is the child of a supervisor, headmistress, HOD or Principal. There is a lot of discrimination and rules keep changing according to the parent’s status and ability to sponsor events in the school.

    Innocent students are not aware of this until they grow up but by that time parents find it difficult to change school as those are crucial years and they don’t want to upset the child’s routine.

    We are happy parents now after changing our daughter’s school as there is no partiality and we feel that we should have done this earlier.

    Parents should please research with good students and their parents before trying to get admission. Below average children are very happy at DPS as there is nobody to restrict them .They can play around and still get marks as the CCE has several options where these kids benefit.

    Reply
    • Jennie says
      October 11, 2013, 9:19 am

      Hi,

      Thanks for the frank feedback and the review about the school.
      My son is 3 years old and am have been having a tough time finalizing a school for him. Could you mention the name of the new school that you shifted your daughter to since you seem to be very satisfied with the move.

      Thanks,
      Robin

      Reply
      • Anonymous says
        October 20, 2013, 7:16 am

        Hi Robin , We shifted our daughter to The International School of Choueifat, Dubai. In the higher classes, our experience is good but I am not sure about the lower classes. It should be good because students are trained towards self study whereas in the Indian curriculum we have to study along with our kids, and life becomes hell.

        Some parents feel that in Choueifat there is a lot of pressure as they have exams every day. Exams are all computerised and there is no scope for partiality from the side of the teacher. Students get to know where they have made their mistakes and the results are posted on a weekly basis.

        Parents need to monitor only the results as they can understand whether the child is progressing or not.

        Every child is given an equal opportunity. Children learn the values of discipline and about how to treat fellow students. They help each other by sharing their knowledge.

        Being a teacher who has worked in Dubai for the past 17 years in several schools I feel happy to have found one which is good. As a teacher and the mother of a student who had been studying in DPS for the past 7 years you can rely on the review. Nowadays our daughter comes home so happy and it gives us such a lot of pleasure to see her attaining a 97% in the new school, through self study.

        I hope you are able to get the best for your son.

Share YOUR experience... Have your say here...